Out the box

Having written about my time served on the mac computers at Glasgow School of Art, I found myself standing in front of the blue box in the photograph. It holds decades of thoughts , feelings, opinions and even some confessions. It holds the scribbling of an artist in waiting, navigating student life with an open heart and sometimes a worried mind.

It can true that in our darkest times, we replay our finest moments. Could that be beneficial? Can we, when faced with harsh realities, fall back into the comfort of past achievements? Were those achievements a savings bank, from which we can withdraw when current funds of clarity are waning?

That was what I experienced today. Opening the blue box, I was faced with the story of a mind not yet broken, from a time of pure naivety and relentless ambition. Surely it cannot be true that these things are gone, but perhaps that they’ve been stored for another time. For now?

Were my 10,000 words a down payment? Am I now positioned such that they can head in a new direction and become the book I’d never really admitted they were?

I think the answer is yes.

Leave a comment